Melody in Mayhem

  • Friday 11pm-Saturday 2am

Experimental, genre defying music for all ages and from all ages. Pretty much anything is fair game here but there is an emphasis on minimal electronics of the non-dance persuasion as well as post-classical, between-the-cracks rock and some good ol’ time Musique Concrete when I can find it. We’ll also give emphasis to new releases when they come in. Non serious music for the academic listener.


Melody in Mayhem's Blog

Sep. 17 2016

Problems with the playlist crashing again tonight. For a full list of what I played tonight click on the second playlist.

New things included: Derek Piotr, David Liebe Hart, Jan St. Werner, The Furr, Ratkiller, Jürg Solothurnmann and more.

For things not too new: Hermann Nitsch, Krzysztof Penderecki, C. Joynes, Boredoms from approx. 1990, Conlon Nancarrow, Liana Alexandra,Tomasz Gwinciński and more.

We ended the show with an excerpt from a piece by the Austrian artist, Hermann Nitsch. To get a glimpse of his provocative work including live performances check out these two links.

Sep. 10 2016

Here's a sample of some of the new material we played on the latest Melody in Mayhem:

Inutili, The Furr, Derek Piotr, deCollage, Invisibl Scratch Piklz, Circuit Des Yeax, Tobacco and lots more.

As far as old material: Maggi Payne, Brise-Glacek, Edward Ka-Spel, Meerenai Shim, AGF, Roland Kayn (check below) and more.

Here's the definitive site on Roland Kayn who has to be considered a pioneer on composing for early forms of electronics.

Hey, it only took me two months to get back to you! Thanks. I try to have fun. Where are you?

great show! love the mix of weirdness and beauty contained within.

thump thump, is this thing on? listening ... yes

© 2014 Asheville FM All rights reserved.